Our Board

CSA’s Board of directors

Meet the officers and directors of the Canadian Spondylitis Association.

Secretary : Erika Brimacombe (BC)

Erika Brimacombe is a practicing lawyer in British Columbia. Erika received her law degree from the University of Victoria in 2016. Before attending law school, Erika obtained her B.A. from the University of British Columbia where she studied Cognitive Systems and Linguistics.

Director: Anthony Florendo (Ontario)

Anthony has been suffering from spondylitis (Ankylosing Spondylitis) since his early 20’s while still living in his country of birth, the Philippines. His AS went undiagnosed until, in his mid 50’s a vigilant rheumatologist in Canada finally gave him a diagnosis.

Vice-Chair: Moataz Daoud (Ontario)
Director: Don Bindon (BC)

Don is a retired RCMP Officer who was diagnosed with AS in 1989. He joined the Ankylosing Spondylitis Association of British Columbia as its President prior to his retirement from policing in 2005.

Treasurer : Kim Ewasechko (Alberta)

Concurrently, over the past decade Kim has leveraged this experience and deployed it in the Not-for-Profit sector as a Board Member at the Canadian Liver Foundation from 2010 to 2020 – with the last few years as a Finance Committee Member, and as a Board Member of Field Hockey Canada – with the last few years as Treasurer.

Chair : Dr. Elie Karam (Québec)

He is currently seeking to put his leadership, medical, and research skills in the service of the CSA in order to raise more awareness and improve the quality of life for patients living with spondyloarthropathies.

Director: Caitlin Keating (Ontario)

Caitlin is passionate about improving access to healthcare and timely diagnosis, particularly for young adults and athletes who suffer from spondyloarthritis. She also believes in the value of volunteering and improving health and community outcomes.